How to Effectively Employ RTB Media Marketing Strategies

How to Effectively Employ RTB Media Marketing Strategies

You can streamline the process of managing digital campaigns and maximize your advertising ROI with an effective rtb media marketing strategy.

You’ve probably heard about programmatic and real time bidding advertising. If you’re not sure about what these terms mean, however, you’re in the right place.

These relatively new marketing tools aren’t that hard to understand once you break them down. Continue on to find out how you can use an effective RTB media strategy to compete in an increasingly complex digital media advertising space.

What’s So Great About RTB Media?

Real time bidding (RTB) involves the buying and selling of online ad impressions in, well, real time. RTB auctions happen in the amount of time that it takes for a webpage to open. You can use RTB auctions to place ads on well-known assets like YouTube, Facebook and Twitter.

To get in on an auction, you’ll need to partner with a programmatic advertising agency. Top agencies will provide you with the dashboard to facilitate the process.

Don’t get caught up in terminology. What you’re buying are ad impressions.

An ad impression takes place when, for instance, a space for a banner ad displays in a user’s web browser. As the user opens their webpage, the browser sends a message to an rtb media ad exchange.

An ad exchange auctions off that banner space to bidders. Whoever wins the auction gets to display their brand – if only for a moment. However, a moment is all it takes for a potential buyer to click on your ad and buy what you’re selling.

Congratulations You Won! Now What?

When you win a bid, your ad gets displayed instantly. The entire process takes place in milliseconds.

Typically, you’d use a demand-side platform to choose impressions to buy. You’ll also use the platform to figure out how much to bid based on various factors. For instance, you’d use the platform to evaluate what sites your ads will appear on and the behavior of internet browsers.

Say, for instance, you’ve tagged an internet browser with the cookie, and now that individual is looking at another site that sells the same goods as your brand. In an ad exchange, there are other brands in the same position. They will compete in an auction format to win ad space to reinforce their offering to that consumer.

In the past, you’d contact a website owner directly to buy ad space. The rtb media process is much more effective.

For instance, if you wanted to reach car enthusiasts, you’d buy banner space on an automotive website. With RTB, however, you can target users, rather than hoping that they will visit a particular site and see your ad.

Let’s Take a Step Back

You must understand that real time bidding is a type of programmatic advertising. Not all programmatic advertising uses RTB. Here, however, we’ll focus on the kind of programmatic advertising that does use RTB.

RTB is great for advertisers because it’s efficient. Real time bidding eliminates the need to meet with publishers and ad networks to negotiate prices for traffic. Ad exchanges and technology enable you to access a vast range of inventory across an even more extensive range of websites.

You can also use rtb media to pick the impressions that you think are the most valuable for your brand. This capability eliminates the possibility of buying advertising impressions for the wrong audience.

It also gets rid of the need for costly human intervention. Also, RTB eliminates human errors.

It’s worth noting that you can lose a lot of money on fraudulent RTB platforms – more on that shortly.

In the beginning, some publishers didn’t care for RTB technology. They believed that it enabled brands to pay too little for advertising space.

Now, however, a growing number of digital properties are embracing RTB. This change is taking place because supply-side platforms enable them to set a minimum price at which to sell their inventory. This minimum price is called a price floor.

A price floor enables publishers to put their spaces up for auction without worrying about losing too much revenue. You must meet a reserve price in order to win the bid with a price floor. If you don’t, the transaction won’t take place.

Don’t Let Privacy Bite You in the Backside

Consumer privacy is another vital issue to consider when developing your RTB strategy. Online privacy regulations are tightening. Which makes rtb media buying even more desirable.

In the UK, officials are focusing their attention on real time bidding – and not the good kind. There, lawmakers are concerned that RTB practices do not comply with the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR).

When an RTB auction takes place, there are many entrants in the process. UK officials want to make sure that RTB advertising platforms regulate this process appropriately.

Lawmakers are unsatisfied with the way that interests in the RTB process pass consumer data around freely. When this issue arises, tech companies frequently bring up the European Privacy and Electronic Communications Regulation (PECR) from 2003.

The tech companies argue that they must comply with PECR in this early stage before concerning themselves with the GDPR. After doing this, the firms claim that consumers must give consent to share their information, so the companies are still in compliance.

Why does this matter? Because it’s a good idea to get in front of this issue before it influences the California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA) in the United States.

Envisioning a Better Way Forward

If all RTB stakeholders work together, self-governance can serve as a long-term strategy for avoiding government intervention that can stifle the industry. This strategy includes doing your part in working with your advertising agency to make sure that you protect consumer privacy in the United States.

An excellent place to start is to have the details of how your platform shares consumer information in your contract. Knowing this information is your responsibility.

Also, it’s appropriate considering that malicious actors can piece together seemingly anonymous data to identify consumers. Without proper governance, RTB can become a hacker free-for-all and eliminate what could become an advertising cash cow for brands.

It helps to add controls as part of the RTB consent process. You want to partner with a programmatic advertising platform that has measures in place that will protect your brand from liability now and in the future.

Make Sure Not to Give Fly-By-Night Operators Your Hard-Earned Cash

There’s a saying that states, “You get what you pay for.” However, you need to make sure that’s the case in programmatic marketing.

Since the beginnings of online advertising, fraud has taken place. However, instances of fraud are increasing in the fast-moving RTB arena.

The fragmented and instantaneous nature of RTB makes it easier to commit and hide fraudulent activity. A report published by Clear Code – an advertising programming company – reveals that RTB hackers made off with nearly $6 billion in advertising spending in 2019.

You think that advanced technology would prevent malicious actors from making these kinds of gains. However, they trick technology by creating fake audiences, users, traffic, clicks and installs. They’ll do anything that they can dream up to separate businesses from their money.

There are so many different ways to steal from advertisers that it’s difficult to catch them all. Fortunately, there are cybersecurity companies that have developed algorithms to help you detect fraudulent advertising activity. A few vendors are:

• DoubleVerify
• Forensiq
• Fraudlogix
• Integral Ad Science
• Pixalate
• White Ops

Programmatic advertising stakeholders on both the supply and demand sides use these technologies to prevent advertising fraud.

No matter how hard companies work to prevent fraud, however, hackers work harder to defeat these systems. The bots developed by malicious actors are growing more and more sophisticated. As a result, it’s becoming increasingly difficult to detect fraudulent advertising activity.

Mobile advertising also faces concerns regarding advertising fraud. It seems that wherever advertisers spend money, hackers will try to claim their share of it.

Ultimately, you should consider the human equation. In other words, work with a programmatic advertising platform that you can trust.

Let’s Get Strategizing

No matter what programmatic advertising platform you use, you’ll when ad space that’s served from an ad server. The ad server determines the winner in milliseconds.

Once it calculates the winner, it serves your ad on a website or mobile app. Then, you get charged for the impression.

It’s essential to understand how an ad server calculates rates. Ad servers calculate the estimated cost per thousand impressions (eCPM).

Imagine that you make a real time bid of $0.10 per click. Assume that your ads receive a click-through rate of 1%.

All things considered, you should win the auction if you bid $1.00. Right? Not necessarily.

If your click-through rate drops to .05%, you’ll lose the auction. The ad server calculates your bid as 1,000 x .005 x .10.

In other words, you just bid $0.50 per impression, when you thought you were offering a dollar. This scenario highlights the intricate variables that ad servers calculate in mere fractions of a second during an auction.

After losing an auction, most marketers would simply raise their bid. Others would hire new creative. Still, others would take their losses and move on.

Once your click-through rate drops, it can wreck your entire RTB marketing budget. This point goes to show you that you can’t just buy advertising space. You also have to create great advertising.

Keep Your Eye on the Prize

You should also understand your role in the digital advertising sphere. For instance, if an ad rep quotes a high price, remember that it’s their job to get the most money for each impression.

Accordingly, don’t base your bidding strategy on advice from ad reps.

Also, avoid basing your bidding strategy on merely beating the top bid. That bid may represent one placement, placement on one kind of device or an advertiser who has deep pockets and doesn’t care about poor performance.

An unoptimized advertisement with a reduced click-through rate can’t compete with the top bid. Poor ads will drain your auction account – but fast.

The solution? Test, test, test, until you find a good performer. As a matter of fact, you should find a few winners.

For instance, break up your marketing campaign across different sized banners. You can also test the results of ads created by different creatives.

Another great tactic is to start your campaigns with the minimum bid – rather than what you think is the maximum. This tactic will help you to see how much traffic you can win at a given rate.

It will also allow you to evaluate the quality of the platform’s traffic. If you don’t win your bid, you can always raise your rate. However, it’s a horrible idea to start at the highest cost per click then try to work your way down.

The Best Strategy of All: Partnering With an Expert

Believe it or not, these methods represent a small segment of effective strategies for rtb media advertising. It takes effort, expertise and time to develop an effective programmatic marketing strategy.

At the same time, you have a business to lead. Still, you have to outdo the competition to survive.

This conflict may lead you to wonder, “How are my competitors securing top advertising and still doing a great job running their business?” The answer is that they’re leveraging the skills of experts.

Media Shark has the talent and expertise to help you develop an effective rtb media strategy for less than what it will cost for you to do it in-house. Contact us today to find out how we can help you navigate the fierce waters of increasingly sophisticated digital advertising sea.

Related Posts

What Are The Best Digital Ad Sizes for 2022?

What Are The Best Digital Ad Sizes for 2022?

On average, display ads have a click-through-rate of 3.17%. Of course, this can vary with a range of factors including whether your…
Programmatic Ads Spending Trends

Programmatic Ads Spending Trends

Programmatic digital display ad spend has jumped drastically every year for the past few years: $75.09 billion in 2020, $105.99…
How to Get Started With Programmatic Media Buying

How to Get Started With Programmatic Media Buying

Are you using programmatic advertising for your business? If not, you’re missing out. Over 90% of all digital display ad spend…
programmatic ads

Programmatic Ads Spending Trends

Programmatic digital display ad spend has jumped drastically every year for the past few years: $75.09 billion in 2020, $105.99 billion in 2021,

google ads course, digital ads, google display ads, programmatic video, programmatic radio
Google Display Ads

Google Ads Course: Writing Effective Ads

If you’re looking to advertise your business online, a good place to start would be a platform that has over 4.8 billion interactions every single

in-game advertising, gaming advertising
in game advertising

15 Genius Examples of In-Game Advertising

Did you know that on any given day, you’re exposed to anywhere from 4,000 to 10,000 advertisements? Advertising is so ingrained in consumers lives

Tik Tok Ads Manager
TikTok Advertising

TikTok Ads Manager

Tik Tok has taken the world by storm. Since its launch in 2018, it has amassed over 1 billion active users.  With so many users,

metaverse advertising

Metaverse Advertising: Is It Worth It?

There’s a goldmine for your ads that you haven’t taken advantage of. That goldmine is the Metaverse. Do you want to advertise in

youtube influencer marketing
TikTok Advertising

How Does YouTube Influencer Marketing Work?

Did you know that seven in ten people have purchased a product after seeing it on YouTube?  If you’ve been considering using influencer marketing but

social media advertising
Marketing Strategies

Social Media Advertising in 2022

You can barely mention marketing without dropping social media somewhere in the sentence. But, as 55% of consumers learn about brands on these platforms there’s

in game advertising
in game advertising

6 Reasons to Use In-Game Advertising

The gaming industry is worth $90.3 billion in America. In the past, gaming was used for recreational purposes but now it’s turned into a

in game advertising
in game advertising

7 Benefits of Using In-Game Advertising

Global in-game advertising is expected to garner more than $13 million by the end of 2028. This is an 11% increase from 2021. Odds are


OTT vs. CTV Advertising: An Ultimate Guide

Want to learn the difference between OTT vs. CTV? There are more than 820 million connected devices in the US. With the rise of streaming services,

in game advertising
in game advertising

What Is In-Game Advertising?

The gaming market is set to explode with an estimated value of $314 billion by the year 2027. And it’s never been a better time

Marketing Strategies

How to Measure Your Marketing ROI

Did you know that email marketing has an average ROI of 4200%? That makes it the highest within digital marketing! This means that brands

TikTok ideas for businesses
TikTok Advertising

15 Engaging TikTok Ideas for Businesses

By 2023, the number of TikTok users in the US could grow to just under 90 million people. Already, 37 million Gen Z-ers use TikTok

TikTok marketing trends 2022
TikTok Advertising

The Biggest TikTok Marketing Trends in 2022

Social media users have now installed TikTok onto their smartphones over 2.6 billion times. In fact, TikTok has 689 million monthly active users as

TikTok videos
TikTok Advertising

How to Create Engaging,  TikTok Videos 

TikTok was the most downloaded app in 2021, with over 656 million downloads. Between 2020 and 2021, TikTok videos experienced a 6% increase. If

digital ads
Google Display Ads

Easy Ways to Improve Your Digital Ads

Did you know that in 2021, digital ads and media were projected to account for more than half of all US ad dollars? 57%

organic traffic
Marketing Agency

Your Guide to the Benefits of Organic Traffic

Every day Google processes around 3.5 billion searches. When you set up a website for your company, the goal should be to divert this traffic to

TikTok marketing strategy
TikTok Advertising

Avoid These TikTok Marketing Strategy Mistakes

TikTok has over one billion users and is continuing to expand. In less than four years, it surpassed 3 billion downloads. That statistic alone should

marketing metrics
Marketing Agency

8 Marketing Metrics You Need to Be Tracking

Over 70% of consumers aren’t sales-ready when they first interact with your brand. Over 60% won’t feel ready to convert for at least three months.

audience targeting

The Ultimate Audience Targeting Guide

About 85% of consumers use the internet to search for local businesses. Understanding how to reach your ideal customers online can help you drive sales.

YouTube Ad Revenue Calculator

The Ultimate YouTube Ad Revenue Calculator

Whether you’re just starting out or already working with a strong following and viewership base, understanding YouTube ad revenue can be tricky, especially

digital marketing budget
Marketing Agency

How to Make a Digital Marketing Budget

How to Make a Digital Marketing Budget In 2020 the digital marketing and advertising industry was estimated to be worth more than $350 billion.

digital marketing ads
Marketing Strategies

Making Your Digital Marketing Ads Stand Out

Making Your Digital Marketing Ads Stand Out: Design Tips That Work Around 5 billion people (63% of the population) worldwide use the internet. For almost

traditional marketing vs digital marketing
Marketing Strategies

Traditional Marketing vs. Digital Marketing

Did you know that more than four billion people regularly use the internet? Keep reading to learn more about the differences between traditional marketing

diversity marketing
Marketing Strategies

What Are the Benefits of Diversity Marketing?

What Are the Benefits of Diversity Marketing? Diversity in marketing is not just about employing people from different backgrounds, it’s also about using

Social Media Ads
Marketing Agency

Social Media Ads Ranked from Best to Worst

Social Media Ads Ranked from Best to Worst Social media is one of the most impactful developments of this century, with more than 70%

youtube trends

6 Important YouTube Trends for Businesses

6 Important YouTube Trends for Businesses The world’s largest video-sharing platform, Youtube, boasts a staggering 1.9 billion monthly users, with over 5 billion videos watched

youtube seo

YouTube SEO: How to Get Your Videos to Rank

Did you know that YouTube has released several new features to help content creators increase their ranking? Starting an advertising campaign on social media platforms

youtube ads

The Essential Guide to YouTube Ad Campaigns

Did you know that social media marketing is quickly replacing TV ad campaigns? Social media platforms like YouTube garner millions of views every single day

types of SEO

What Are the Different Types of SEO?

What Are the Different Types of SEO? Starting your optimization journey? Pretty overwhelmed by all of the acronyms and marketing terminology? Thought so.

YouTube SEO

YouTube SEO: 9 Key Things to Remember

YouTube SEO: 9 Key Things to Remember Is video content important for your marketing? Absolutely. The amount of online videos that people have

managed SEO

7 Reasons to Hire a Managed SEO Company

7 Reasons to Hire a Managed SEO Company for Your Business In the United States, 65% of small business owners have worked with an SEO

what is a youtube cpm

What Is YouTube CPM? A Quick Guide

What Is YouTube CPM? A Quick Guide Did you know that there are more than 37 million YouTube channels floating around on the internet right

how much does SEO cost

How Much Does SEO Cost on Average?

How Much Does SEO Cost on Average? Did you know that the first result of a Google search tends to get more than 31

enterprise seo

7 Key Benefits of Enterprise SEO

7 Key Benefits of Enterprise SEO Over 50% of all website traffic comes from an organic search. In fact, nearly 70% of online experiences start

tiktok marketing
TikTok Advertising

How to Advertise Your Business on TikTok

How to Advertise Your Business on TikTok TikTok now has over 1.5 billion users in total. The app even added 500 million users within less

benefits of local seo

7 Major Benefits of Local SEO

7 Major Benefits of Local SEO 46% of all searches on Google are people looking for local information. Many of the people doing these

YouTube CPM
Media Shark

What Are the YouTube CPM Rates in 2022?

What Are the YouTube CPM Rates in 2022? Did you know that YouTube receives more than 2 billion viewers every month? With numbers like that,

seo trends
Marketing Strategies

7 SEO Trends to Look Out for in 2022

7 SEO Trends to Look Out for in 2022 SEO: it’s one of the most important parts of your website. Even the best

managed seo
Media Shark

7 Major Benefits of Using Managed SEO Services

7 Major Benefits of Using Managed SEO Services Building your online presence while keeping your company running may feel impossible as you’re starting.

digital ads
Media Shark

7 Tips To Dominating Digital Ads

7 Tips To Dominating Digital Ads Are you tired of spending all of your money on digital ads that aren’t bringing new leads?

google display ads

A Beginner’s Guide to Google Display Ads

A Beginner’s Guide to Google Display Ads Google Display Ads: are you looking to get started? Whether you’re not familiar with display ads


What Is OTT Advertising?

What Is OTT Advertising? OTT, or over-the-top advertising, is changing how the digital marketing world works. The days of cable TV commercials are

SEO for dummies

SEO For Dummies

SEO For Dummies Did you know that there are more than 1.7 billion websites floating around on the internet right now? Are you looking for

enterprise seo
Media Shark

What Is Enterprise SEO? A Quick Guide

What Is Enterprise SEO? A Quick Guide Compared to traditional ad campaigns, leads through SEO are eight times more likely to convert. A strong SEO

audio ad
Marketing Strategies

How to Measure an Audio Ad

Are you looking for an inexpensive way to connect with your potential clients but feel like you’re out of ideas about what to

display ads
Media Shark

How To Use Display Ads To Your Advantage

The value of the global advertising market is expected to reach $769.9 billion by 2024. When so many businesses have easy access to effective digital channels, it

TikTok Ads
TikTok Advertising

Is It Worth Investing in TikTok Ads?

Are you thinking of adding TikTok Ads to your advertising strategy? If you consider TikTok a kid’s app for uploading silly videos and

integrated marketing
Marketing Agency

The What, Why and How of Integrated Marketing

Approximately 49% of businesses in the US, use digital marketing to promote their products and raise brand awareness. That’s about half of all businesses in

online video advertising

Online Video Advertising in 9 Simple Steps

Did you know that video marketing is used by 86% of businesses to improve brand awareness? Approximately 87% of video marketers have reported that

Native Advertising Work
Marketing Agency

How Does Native Advertising Work?

Did you know that 90% of consumers still term targeted ads as annoying, despite advertisers tailoring them to their needs and interests? Keep reading to

ad campaign

How to Develop a Successful Online Ad Campaign

According to research, global advertising surpassed a hefty $559 billion, which means online ads are fierce competition. Creating a successful ad campaign could seem

YouTube CPM Calculator

YouTube CPM Calculator

YouTube CPM Calculator Imagine getting to make more money from your YouTube videos as a creator. Or if you’re an advertiser, think about

youtube cpm

Everything You Need to Know About YouTube CPM

Viewers are shifting their focus from pay-per-view video streaming to online platforms. YouTube has seen a steady increase in subscribers and users over

ad exchange

What is Ad Exchange and How Does It Work?

What is Ad Exchange and How Does It Work? This year the digital ad space defied all pandemic-related odds and rebounded 12%. When

ad network

How to Incorporate an Ad Network Today

How to Incorporate an Ad Network Into Your Marketing Campaign When the Internet first became prominent, some businesses saw the writing on the

Audio Ads

Listen Up: What Are YouTube Audio Ads?

Listen Up: What Are YouTube Audio Ads? YouTube is a $15 billion a year ad revenue business.  And that will grow even more with YouTube

YouTube Ad
Marketing Strategies

Ad Answers: How Much Does a YouTube Ad Cost?

Ad Answers: How Much Does a YouTube Ad Cost? Did you know that YouTube gets 30 million visitors every day? This makes the video-sharing platform

digital marketing trends

5 Digital Marketing Trends For 2021

5 Of 2021’s Biggest Digital Marketing Trends In 2020, digital marketing surpassed traditional marketing in revenue generated. That trend didn’t reverse in 2021, and it

Marketing Strategies

Media Shark: What is Display Advertising?

Apparently, the average American sees more than 5,000 adverts a day. Display advertising can be the key to helping you grow your business today!

ppc specialist
ppc specialist

The Benefits of Outsourcing a PPC Specialist in 2020

About 45% of small businesses are already using pay-per-click (PPC) search marketing. If you’re not, you’re already falling behind your competitors. With PPC advertising, you


Video Marketing With Media Shark

Having custom video content for your business would truly take your digital marketing efforts to the next level and Media Shark is your

Marketing Strategies

8 Benefits of Mobile SEO with Media Shark

There is no doubt that search engine optimization is vital for a successful marketing strategy, but people aren’t using desktops for search anymore.

Marketing Agency

7 Common WordPress Mistakes You Need To Fix

WordPress is a fantastic tool for building websites. It has a number of options for customizing and enhancing features. It is easy to


YouTube Advertising 101: Getting Started

With two billion users logging in monthly, YouTube is the world’s second-largest social media platform. If you’re looking to reach a new audience or add


8 Great YouTube Advertising Ideas

8 Great YouTube Advertising Ideas for Your Business Did you know there are over two billion active monthly YouTube users? That means you could get


How to Optimize YouTube Ads

How to Optimize YouTube Ads: The Guide You Need Youtube has more than 2 billion unique visits every month, and according to Youtube’s CEO, that

Marketing Agency

Signs It’s Time to Switch Marketing Agencies

Many businesses hire marketing agencies expecting top-notch results. In reality, this isn’t always the case. This is especially true when it’s your first


Online Marketing Strategies to Help You Win

Online Marketing Strategies to Help You Win The internet is a popular place and has attracted 40% of the world’s population. That’s more than 4.5

What Does RTB Stand For?

What Does RTB Stand For? RTB stands for real-time bidding, it is has become a popular method that advertisers use to place ads online. However,

YouTube CPM

What Is a YouTube CPM Rate?

What Is YouTube CPM? Since launching in 2005, YouTube has become one of the most influential platforms in internet history. Which is why

programmatic platforms

The Truth About Programmatic Platforms

The 101 on Programmatic Platforms The digital advertising domain is growing complex and the same can be said within what exists within the

Tampa marketing agency
Marketing Agency

How to Find the Right Tampa Marketing Agency

How to Find the Right Tampa Marketing Agency With the emergence of the internet, nearly anything seems possible for businesses. Just like the

programmatic platforms

Programmatic Platforms and RTB Marketing

Programmatic Platforms and RTB Marketing The digital advertising domain is growing complex. As a result, many marketers have turned to programmatic platforms and

ppc specialist
Marketing Strategies

11 Skills Your PPC Specialist Should Have

Did you know that 7 million advertisers invested a total of $10.1 billion in PPC? That’s a clear indication of how crucial it is! Having